Night-Time Skin Care Routine

DSCN0843

I’ve always believed that I had an ordinary skin type. All through my teenage years I never considered myself to have oily skin or dry skin (I had bad acne at one point in my life but I put a stop to that before it got any worse than it needed to be). However, recently (within the last year or so) my skin has changed. I now categorize myself as having dehydrated/dry/very dry skin. I feel like I have tried every moisturiser under the sun to get my desired soft and supple skin back but nothing seemed to help my, fast becoming problematic, skin. The dryness is mainly in areas under my eyes and on my nose. After trial and error of most of the products in the Boots skin care section, I finally feel like I have something that works (well for the time being anyway!) So without further ado, here is my night-time skin routine. 

First things first, I like to pin back my hair using a headband of some sort, this is just to keep my hair out of my face and to ensure that I don’t get any product in it.

DSCN0844

The first thing I do when getting ready for bed is to remove all my makeup from my face. To do this I like to use these wipes. These are the Johnson’s moisturising face wipes for dry skin. (I used to use the ones in the pink packet which I think are for normal skin, but I’m sure they were a contributor to the drying out of my skin.) I only use these to remove the makeup from my actual face/neck. I don’t use these wipes around my eyes, as I have another product that I feel is more gentle for the eye area, and works better at removing the makeup.

DSCN0845

And that product is this L’Oreal Gentle Eye Makeup Remover. This really is great at removing every last spec of my eye makeup, and that’s a task I’m telling you. I feel like this product breaks down the makeup almost instantly, as I never find that I’m smearing black mascara all over the place, it just seems to disintegrate into the cotton pad.

DSCN0846

The next thing I like to do is cleanse my face, just to ensure all the dirt and last bits of makeup residue are well and truly gone. I use two cleansers. First, I apply this Lancome Gel Eclat which is a gel type consistency but when applied wet, like you’re supposed to do, it bubbles up into a lovely mousse consistency which is great for rubbing all over the face. So I wash my face first with a clean wet flannel, apply this cleanser ensuring I rub it well into my skin, then I wash it off with that same flannel, exfoliating my face with the flannel as I go.

DSCN0847

At this point, once a week (normally a Sunday), I like to use a nose strip just to clear out any clogged pores. I’m quite lucky that I don’t have many black heads at all, but I do still love the results of a good nose strip session. So this is when I like to apply this, as your nose has to be wet, and as I’ve just washed my cleanser off, it’s the perfect time. I like to use the Biore nose strips. It says to do it every three days, but I honestly feel that once a week is plentiful, especially with a good cleansing and face wash routine.

DSCN0848

Once I’ve pulled off the nose strip, I then go in with a cleansing water. This is the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water. I often see this getting compared to the Bioderma Cleansing Water, which I’ve personally never used. I like this because its nice and refreshing on the skin and I just feel it gets the very last remainders off my face. I use it with a cotton pad and just rub it all over. This also says its good for sensitive skin too.

DSCN0849

When the cleansing water has sunk in and my face is dry I like to put on a thick(ish) layer of moisturiser (so it soaks in over night). For my eyes I’m currently liking this La Roche-Posay Hydraphase Intense Yeux (God only knows how you pronounce that mouthful of words). This says is rehydrating concentrate, anti-bags, and anti-fatigue. I recently started developing a slight dryness of the skin in the under eye area, and this really has been helping it.

DSCN0850DSCN0854DSCN0853

And finally, before I jump under the duvet, I like to use my favourite facial moisturiser, Astral Cream. This is a face and body moisturiser but I only like to use it on my face. My skin is on the dry side so I find putting on a decent amount of this really does help come morning time. Then I pop on this Maybelline Baby Lips Lip Balm and bit of this Pride Tattoo Cream (especially if the tattoo is new), and we’re good to go to dream land!

That is the end of my night-time skin care routine. This is working really well for me at the moment and am carrying out the whole routine religiously every night (apart from the nose strip). If you have any recommendations of products that might work well for my dry skin, or any questions about the products I’m using, then please feel free to leave me a comment. Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed this post!

Type to you soon,

KellenaBeautyy

KellenaBeauty Logosml

Leave a Reply

